Keeping Your Reusable Shopping Bags Clean

Image

Keeping bags clean

Are you finally starting to remember to bring your bags? Great, but don’t forget to clean them, too.

In 2010, researchers at the University of Arizona and Loma Linda University in California tested 84 reusable bags and found that half of them carried some form of coliform bacteria, including E. coli. In that same study, 97 percent of those interviewed said they never wash or bleach their reusable bags.

And just think: If you never wash your bags and you store them in the trunk of your car, especially during the hot summer months, you’re essentially creating an incubator that will encourage bacteria growth.

Some bags are easier to clean than others. Cloth or canvas bags can be thrown in the washing machine, but many of the reusable bags sold today are coated with plastic and are meant to be wiped clean or are made with a fabric or material that is not machine washable. Last summer, after realizing that I’d never cleaned any of the 30 or so reusable bags I had collected over the years, I set out to give them a good cleaning. I pulled out the canvas bags to machine wash, which wasn’t any more difficult than regular laundry, but because I knew that I’d used the other bags to carry everything from whole chickens to clothes I was taking to the thrift store, I wanted to clean them with more than a rag and spray bottle of cleaning liquid.

In an effort to keep the bathroom floor from getting sopping wet, I ended up filling a kiddie pool in the backyard with water and more antibacterial soap that I probably needed. It was a hassle, to say the least, so much so that since, I’ve used only canvas bags to carry groceries. (That is, when I’ve remembered to bring them. I’m as forgetful as anyone, but as the ordinance start date approaches, I’m getting better about grabbing them from the pantry on the way out.)

Some of the shoppers I talked to for this story preferred other kinds of reusable bags because of their square bottoms, which are easier to pack, or for aesthetic reasons, but for my money (and family’s health), if I can’t wash the bag in the washing machine, I probably won’t use it to carry food.

To further avoid accidentally poisoning someone in your family, consider using the same reusable bag for meat and fish on every grocery trip and another specifically for fresh produce. If you clearly label the bags and point them out to the person helping bag your groceries at the store, you can help avoid cross-contamination. Wash the meat and produce bags more frequently than the bags that carry the goods that are already packaged.

Also, take advantage of the so-called product or noncheckout bags — the lightweight bags found in the bakery, bulk, produce and meat sections that add an extra layer of food safety protection. These bags are exempt in Austin’s bag ordinance, and in recent years, many retailers have added a roll of these bags near the poultry, whose packaging is notoriously leaky.

Some bags, including those made with nylon or nonwoven polypropylene, can be washed on cold in the washing machine’s gentle cycle but, depending on the material, can break down quickly if run through the machine. (Don’t put them in the dryer or they’ll really fall apart.) You could spray them with an antibacterial spray, such as Lysol, but I’d rather use sturdier bags that I can actually wash to get clean.

– See more at: http://www.austin360.com/news/lifestyles/food-cooking/what-you-need-to-know-ahead-of-austins-single-use-/nTpkb/#sthash.XtdWqFJF.dpuf

Published by

eclipsetexas

I am a 47 year old Mother of 1 who just married her high school sweetheart 2 years ago. We are now working together in our Marketing Firm that we created. I am the geeky one, so I do all the facebook, twitter, klout, + google, LinkedIn, etc... My husband has been in some kind of sales for almost all his life. I often say he can sell and eskimo ice!

Leave a Reply

